Beth Ditto to Release Debut Solo Album ‘Fake Sugar’ on June 16

Beth Ditto will release her solo debut Fake Sugar on June 16 via Virgin Records. The first single Fire is out now. Listen to the song  and Get it here.

Pre-order the digital album here and instantly receive Fire.

Ditto – who will play sold-out shows in Berlin, Paris and London in April – enlisted Jennifer Decilveo (Andra Day, Ryn Weaver)as her primary collaborator on Fake Sugar. The producer masterfully balanced out Ditto’s punk bias with pop flare and perspective. As Ditto puts it, “She was the rollerblades to my roller skates. We’d argue all day long and I loved it.”

On Fake SugarDitto approaches love, loss, looking back and moving forward with all the sexiness, poignancy, power and beauty befitting such an iconoclastic artist. The album is a mash-up of driving blues, malt-shop pop, swooning rock and countrified soul.  In and Out  is a hip-shaker with a ’50s girl group vibe,  Savoir Faire  pairs a disco stomp with Ditto’s crackling rock vocal and  Go Baby Go  is a tribute to Suicide’s Alan Vega, decked out in black leather, racing down an interstellar aural highway. On  Oh My God, Ditto’srawness, quaver and cool split the difference between Tina Turner and Bobbie Gentry.

Fake Sugar – Track Listing
  1. Fire
  2. In And Out
  3. Fake Sugar
  4. Savoire Faire
  5. We Could Run
  6. Oo La La
  7. Go Baby Go
  8. Oh My God
  9. Love In Real Life
  10. Do You Want Me To
  11. Lover
  12. Clouds                        

It's only fair to share...Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on StumbleUponPin on Pinterest