Charlotte OC’s Debut Album ‘Careless People’ Coming March 31

Charlotte OC will release her debut album Careless People on March 31 on Harvest Records. It was helmed by producer/former Ima Robot member Tim Anderson (Solange, Youngblood Hawke, Halsey).

Says Charlotte O.C., “The album is a collection of songs that tells the story of how other people’s recklessness and careless behaviour can hurt and affect others.  It’s also about me being careless and moments where I probably should have cared less while finding out what I actually cared about.”

Charlotte will perform the album’s lead single,  Darkest Hour, when she makes her television debut on NBC’s Late Night with Seth Meyers on February 15th. The track, which already has more than 700,000 streams, is one of 10 originals on Careless People.

Throughout Careless PeopleCharlotte matches the stormy intensity of her music with fearlessly intimate lyrics. With its title taken from a passage in The Great Gatsby (“They were careless people, Tom and Daisy-they smashed up things and creatures and then retreated back into their money or their vast carelessness”), the album closely explores her own fascination with careless behavior.
“I wrote a lot about family problems, things I grew up with that have stayed with me through my life-but also about falling in love for the first time and everything that comes with that,” says Charlotte OC, who grew up in the former mill town of Blackburn.
The stark, darkly romantic album was inspired by her homeland. “Northern England is quite gloomy and industrial, but there’s also all this folklore about the North that’s got a lot to do with witches,” explains Charlotte. “Making this album, I wanted to mix the real and surreal in that way, to be as honest as possible but also bring out the mystical side of where I’m from.”
Careless People – Track Listing
  1. Black Out
  2. Darkest Hour
  3. Medicine Man
  4. River
  5. Shell
  6. Choice
  7. Running Back To You
  8. Higher
  9. I Want Your Love
  10. Where It Stays
  11. In Paris

It's only fair to share...Tweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on StumbleUponPin on Pinterest