Fantômas DVD and Live Album The Director’s Cut Live : A New Year’s Revolution set for Sept 6 Release

FantomasFantômas, the eclectic supergroup featuring Mike Patton (Faith No More, Tomahawk, Peeping Tom), Buzz Osborne (Melvins), Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle, MadLove) and Melvins’ drummer Dale Crover filling in for Dave Lombardo (Slayer), release The Director’s Cut Live: A New Year’s Revolution on DVD and as a standalone audio download on Sept. 6 via Ipecac Recordings.

Filmed at San Francisco’s Great American Music Hall, the DVD features audio commentary by comedian Neil Hamburger.

Fantômas released the studio version of The Director’s Cut in July of 2001.  The album tackles a collection of beloved and eerie film compositions including Nino Rota’s “The Godfather,” Bernard Herrmann’s “Cape Fear” and Jerry Goldsmith’s “The Omen (Ave Satani).”  Upon its release, Pitchfork said the release was “as cinematic as its source material” and NME called it “gleeful butchering.”

Two songs featured on The Director’s Cut Live: A New Year’s Revolution were not in the original release of The Director’s Cut: Al Green’s “Simply Beautiful” and Marc Bolan & T. Rex’s “Chariot Choogle.”

The Director’s Cut Live: A New Year’s Revolution track listing:

  1. The Godfather
  2. Night of the Hunter
  3. Cape Fear
  4. Experiment in Terror
  5. One Step Beyond
  6. Rosemary’s Baby
  7. The Devil Rides Out
  8. Spider Baby
  9. The Omen (Ave Satani)
  10. Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer
  11. Vendetta
  12. Investigation Of A Citizen Above Suspicion
  13. Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me
  14. Der Golem
  15. Charade
  16. Intermission
  17. Simply Beautiful
  18. Chariot Choogle