Frankenweenie Soundtrack Features Karen O New Song Strange Love

Frankenweenie UnleashedDisney’s Frankenweenie Unleashed Soundtrack contains a new original song Strange Love, written by rock band Yeah Yeah yeahs vocalist, Karen O. It is not the first time she lends her voice and songwriting abilities, and her talent to the big screen. She previously composed the score with Carter Burwell for Where The Wild Things Are. She co-wrote All is Love with Nick Zinner for the film. O also contributed vocals to the Trent Reznor produced cover of Led Zeppelin’s Immigrant song for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

Frankenweenie 14track compilation inspired by the film, will be available on September 25, 2012. Other acts include  Robert Smith, Neon Trees, Awolnation, Imagine Dragon, actress Winona Ryder, Mark Foster, Plain White Ts, Kimbra and more. Danny Elfmans original score will be released the same day.

Pre-order Frankenweenie Uleashed here.

Karen O told Rolling Stone , “Tim [Burton] wanted an unconventional unconditional love song. My music inspiration came out of the same era of B movie fright film references sprinkled throughout the film. I went in the direction of exotica and calypso stylistically because it’s quirky, good vibes music of that era and when you throw in a theramin solo it’s a marriage made in heaven. I remember Beetlejuice introducing me to the genius of Harry Belafonte’s calypso record so I wanted to give a nod to that too. We ended up with a love song for the end of the film to the film! Frankenweenie is so special, it’s an unbelievable honor to be involved with it.”

Frankenweenie Film

Frankenweenie Movie hits theaters on October 5. Directed by Tim Burton, it tells the story of  Victor, a young boy who brings his beloved dog , Sparky back to life. It was shot in black and white and rendered in 3D. The voice cast includes Catherine O’Hara, Martin Short, Martin Landau, Charlie Tahan, Atticus Shaffer, Robert Capron, Conchata Ferrell and Winona Ryder.

 Frankenweenie Tracklist is as follows :

  1. Strange Love – Karen O
  2. Electric Heart (Stay Forever) – Neon Trees
  3. Polartropic (You Don’t Understand Me)Mark Foster
  4. Almost There – Passion Pit
  5. Pet Sematary – Plain White T’s
  6. With My Hands – Kimbra
  7. Everybody’s Got a Secret – AWOLNATION
  8. Immortal – Kerli
  9. My Mechanical Friend – Grace Potter featuring The Flaming Lips
  10. Lost Cause – Imagine Dragons
  11. Underground – Grouplove
  12. Building a MonsterSkylar Grey
  13. Witchcraft – Robert Smith
  14. Praise Be New Holland – Winona Ryder

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook3Share on Google+0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Tumblr0Share on StumbleUpon0